Many sports players advertise sports-related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, industries have adopted many tactics to enhance their market, and involving the figureheads is one of their strategies. In modern era, many companies are using the well- known sports persons as a brand ambassadors of certain products. Although, this trend is advantageous for industries, yet its drawbacks cannot be ignored. This essay will shed lights on both merits and demerits of this trend.

To begin with, one of the prominent benefits of using a sportsman in advertising the product is that, it enhances the value of that particular item in society. As, these athletes are very close to people’s heart and the public treats them as a role model, through them the items might creep in society fastly and increase the business outcome as a result. For instance, Sachin Tandulkar, the renowned cricketer, advertises the energy drinks which he actually uses during his game. His endorsement towards this drink invite many youngsters to boost up their energy level by consuming this healthy drink. In recent statistics, it was proved that after that advertisement that particular company has gained 200% profit within a few years. Furthermore, another significant benefit is that these advertisements are great source of earning. The players can earn hefty amount in million or billion from these promotions.

However, the demerits of this trend, is going side by side. Primarily, this endorsement of sportsperson, sometimes divert their attention and focus from the game. As a result, poor performance can be seen to spectators. To elucidate, Mr. Shahid Afridi, the ex- cricketer, can be seen in almost every second brand because of his popularity among youngsters, which affected his performance in many important matches. Moreover, companies get benefits from their popularity and sometimes advertise flaw materials. Thus, many money minded athletes don’t consider the detrimental effects of those harmful products and just think about material advantages. For example, Rahul David, promote use of alcohol while driving in a fancy way which later on, adopted by several people and causes deaths.

To conclude, advertisements through sportsmen is beneficial for companies to increase their sales to offer heavy amounts to athletes. However, the drawbacks such as divert the players from their real target and promotion of harmful products cannot be ignored.