Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time

These day, more and more students choose to take a gap year before starting university. There are those who say that this is a good idea however others believe that this is a waste of time. In this essay I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion.

From overall perspective, there are two main reasons why I believe that taking a gap year is a good idea. Perhaps the main reason why I am in favor of that idea is because the deferment of study enables students to enrich their real-life experiences. Being employed as an unskilled worker, from which those who have just entered adulthood may learn the precious value of each coin earned. On the other hand, many students may also become cross-country travelers and absorb knowledge of diverse cultural from different geographical context. These all precious value of humanity that generally cannot be obtained from the majority of education programs.

Despite these argument, there is also a case for the idea that taking a gap year is a waste of time. Many students have hang out with friends and play video games instead of gains real-life experiences or travel during a gap year. The more students spent time playing game, the more problems that students will deal with at the beginning of university.

In conclusion, it must be said that the deferment of study has become a complex issue with no easy solution. Overall, I would have to say that I strongly agree with that idea, because specific reasons. If students had a meaningful gap year, they would have a good prepare before university.