Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time ?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, a great deal of teenagers have sought more opportunities to gain work experiences. While some people believe those activities are worthless especially before starting the first academic years, the others consider them as enriching experiences. As I strictly agree with the latter view, I will analyze my point with examples.

First of all, this trend helps youngsters intellectually approach to new study techniques and fundamental skills, such as interpersonal skills or practical one. This time break may broaden each individual’s horizons with greater adaptability, thereby increasing their self-confidence and understanding. In reality, young people will easily access to incredible new outlooks and customs by studying abroad. Then, their knowledges will significantly contribute to the public well-being.

What is more, taking a gap year might create chances for adolescents to explore possible career options. Normally, high-school graduates are not well-prepared with any vocational training. However, with the numerous sources of information before university, they soon take actions to select their future areas of work. A recent survey showed two-thirds of employers deeply search for graduates with pertinent work experiences. Therefore, most youngsters constantly prefer delaying tertiary education for one year to hone more necessary skills.

To summarize, i truly think that this period comes with enormous benefits. In a few words, it generally promotes youngster’s self- discovery, pave the way for their upcoming business and boost the economic growth of the society.