Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time ?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, a great deal of teenagers have sought more opportunities to gain work experiences. While some people believe those activities are worthless especially before starting the first academic years, the others consider them as enriching experiences. As I strictly agree with the latter view, I will analyze my point with examples.

Apparently, there are various advantages for pupils to take a year off before enrolling in university. First of all, this trend helps youngsters intellectually approach to new study techniques and fundamental skills, such as interpersonal or practical one. This time break may broaden each individual’s horizons with greater adaptability, thereby increasing their self-confidence and understanding. For example, young people will easily access to incredible new outlooks and customs by studying abroad. Then, those knowledges will significantly contribute to the development of the society.

Moreover, taking a gap year might create chances for adolescents to explore possible career options. Unfortunately, high-school graduates are not well-equipped with any specialized knowledge for their future career. However, with the relevant skills already collected, they soon take actions to select their certain areas of work. A recent survey showed two-thirds of employers search for graduates with pertinent work experiences. Therefore, most young people constantly prefer delaying tertiary education for one year to hone more necessary skills.

To summarize, there is no doubt that this period comes with enormous benefits. However, students should consider both sides of this trend to make the best decision.