Many students decide to further their study abroad what are the benefits and drawbacks of studying abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, along the rapid development of economy, some students think that study abroad brings many benefits, while others are of the opinion that they should finish university education in their motherland. It is quite natural that people from different backgrounds may have divergent attitudes towards it.

Students, who advocate that study abroad has a lot of disadvantage, have their sound reasons. First of all, living far away from home, students will suffer from loneliness and homesickness. Overseas students often fell disoriented and depressed for lack of adequate knowledge and understanding of the local customs and lifestyle. Secondly, many students do not want to return to their country after graduation because most of them want to seek a more comfortable life and brighter future overseas. This may result in a serious brain-drain and our country will inevitably incur a huge loss of talents.

To this issue, some other students hold a different attitude, arguing that students should go abroad to study. To begin with, it can broaden the student’s horizons. For instance, they get a chance to experience a totally different culture. The knowledge of social customs acquired in the other countries helps them to become more open-minded. Next, there are academic advantages. Students can lean advanced science and technology. They received a different education. The book resources are more up-to-date. The professors are aware of all the latest development in their fields. Therefore, the standard of teaching is much higher. Moreover, when they finish their study abroad, they will have more choices for their future career. All the above merits contribute to their self-betterment and self-realization.

It is quite understandable that people from different backgrounds put different interpretations on the same issue. For my part, I stand on the latter opinion that while overseas study has its drawbacks, the advantages are more obvious. It can broaden one’s vision. Students have easy access to the first-rate facilities and the latest development in science and technology. In addition, when they finish their study, they have more job opportunities. Therefore, as long as it is financially feasible, an overseas education may do a person better than harm.