Some parents and teachers think that children s behavior should be strictly controlled While some think that children should be free to behave Discuss both views and give your opinion

Today, raising well-behaved kids is a challenging effort for both parents and teachers. While some opt for a stricter approach to behavioural management others tend to provide children with the freedom to behave. I feel, there is no “right way” or rule book to follow as each child is different and a practical approach may provide better outcomes. This essay will discuss both view in the following paragraphs along with my thoughts on the same.

On one hand, strict behavioural enforcements may engrave the importance of respecting those in authority. A benefit of this is that children at very early stages get the pulse of who is in control and learn obedience. One of my parents’ rule for instance was to be courteous to people and be soft-spoken and was obeyed as we respected our father. A great quality instilled during my growing years is a part of my nature till date.

On the other hand, encouraging children to express themselves freely may be willing to learn not by laid rules but through exploration regardless of the consequences. It can promote greater sense of confidence. For instance, a child allowed to learn from mistakes could find it easier for decision making. A lot of life’s lessons can be learnt through mistakes.

In conclusion, both styles to mentoring a child’s behaviour has disciplinary rewards. Ideally, I feel, a pragmatic approach to enforcing behaviour developments can negate the negative outcomes such as rebellious children in strict control environment and risk-prone temperament in free to behave setting. Educating and guiding children to identify right from wrong may be the key to raising well behaved children.