Many students like to get involved in extra- curricular activities at university such as social clubs and sports. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In the world today, extra – curricular activities play a crucial role in students’ development. Much as students can reap a lot of benefits from these activities, they also have to deal with some unavoidable hardships which are the causes of many problems

First and foremost, extra curricular activities help promote skills that students will carry with them for a lifetime. Being involved in extra – curricular activities allow students to learn the magnitude of being dependable, responsible, trustworthy and teamwork which are the most essential soft skills for future jobs. Besides, extra curricular activities have to be well performed together with their study, which requires them to learn quickly about prioritizing and time management. Another outstanding point is that these activities intensify the opportunities for students to de admitted in particular college. Nowadays, in many top universities, the performances of students in these programs are one of the most requisite criteria for admission. Therefore, it is vital for students to engage in extra curricular as soon as possible

Despite the above mentioned benefits, there exist some shortcomings. Initially, taking part in these activities will put more pressure on students. Many of them are incapable of multiple activities in one day, which can make them focus on only one and fail on the others or less motivated to study. This will lead to bad academic results at school. Furthermore, when students always take part in extra curricular activities, go through a tough and tight schedule which leaves no free time, it will lead to tiredness and frustration and exhaustion. Not only does it make them unable of completing their assignments, less concentrate on academic study but also have negative effect on students’ health.

To sum up, it is undeniable that extra curricular activities bring students a wide variety of advantages. However, students need to be good at time management to find the right balance between their daily life and these programs.