Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

Although a lot of tertiary institution students reside with their family members while studying, others live in places distant from home due to the difference in location of school. Students can benefit from both situations but there are also some drawbacks to be taken into account.

One obvious advantage of university students who are living with family is that it eliminates the cost of accommodation as the student would not need to pay extra fees on house rent. This is considered beneficial because only in such situations can the already high cost of education be cut down.

However, residing with family while being a student can be detrimental. In a bid for such students to play their role as family members, they are obligated to participate in most of the home chores, such as cleaning and leisure activities, which consume much of study time. Rarely would such students be able to face their studies

As well as staying with family members, living away from parents also has its benefit. Students who live alone tend to enjoy more freedom as most decisions would be taken solely. For example, one can keep late night without the need to ask for permission from fathers and mothers.

Despite this upside, students who stay in their own apartment may lack emotional support when it is most needed. While studying in university, academic assessments can be stressful so the physical presence of loved ones, which usually relieves stress, might be important in such situation. So, if students do not have access to their family, they may breakdown mentally, owing to stress

In conclusion, whether a university student chooses to stay with family or not depends largely on the location of the school. Both choices are advantageous and disadvantageous.