Many women are choosing to have children later in life. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative trend?

In this day and age, having children later in life is a priority choice for some women. There are many reasons for this trend and I strongly believe that it brings more drawbacks than benefits for women.

This trend has become prevalent for some tangible reasons, chief amongst them is that women want their children could have better conditions for their growth. It means that when women have children late, they will have opportunities to achieve a stable income, a good financial background, and also improve their childcare skills. For example, women who have offspring sooner in life, especially those who live in developing countries often have to face up with a shortage of money because of lacking preparation and experience in bringing up children. Besides, another important reason is that they want to use the period before having children to study, travel, and have advanced in their careers. Every people have their own ambition and having children sometimes is the cause that holds back their expected future.

Despite some positive effects that this trend will bring to, it is taken for granted that drawbacks play a majority part. Firstly, it could increase the rate of miscarriage. It is a fact that people who are too old could face up with more dangers if they have pregnant. This situation happens because of the reduction in their health and the ability to have children. Secondly, the health of children could not be good as it should be. If the women have babies late, their children could have a higher rate of having bad illnesses. Thus, I think it will be better if women have children earlier.

In conclusion, finances and ambitions seem some reasons why women tend to have children late. By contrast, I think it is better if they have children early in order to have better health for both mothers and their children.