Some people point out that there will be less international travel in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative trend?

International travel is an important aspect of the modern era because it is considered as the foremost vehicle for cultural exchange for people around the globe as well as an important contributor to the world economy. It is said that there would be less cross-country travel in the near future because of stringent visa policies and unaffordable travel budget resulting from high fuel prices. Though the trend seems to be true, I still hope it would not happen.

To begin with, opponents of international travel may argue that cutting non-essential, for example, international flights will definitely save the planet immeasurable barrels of crude oil, which shows human's care and love for the planet. Moreover, this will also help in reducing pollution resulting from fossil fuels being used in transportation. Additionally, safety problems caused by travel-related crimes are never concerned if international travel is no longer a choice for holiday plan.

On the other side, reduced cross-boundary travel has more disadvantages than its advantages. First of all, the tourism industry will be adversely impacted by such reduction. The Tourism industry is the backbone of many economies in the world. Countries like, for example, Malaysia, Thailand are majorly dependent on international visitors. International visitors bring with them money which they inject into the economy they are visiting, this is excellent for businesses. Additionally, a decline in cross-country travel has appalling effects on the aviation industry. Such a decline will result in unemployment and will hinder the country's development. Moreover, international travel is considered as a tool for culture or art exchange around the world. This cultural exchange results in enhanced understanding among people in the different part of the world. Due to increased understanding, severer conflicts can be dramatically alleviated.

To sum up, international travel is an important aspect of human life and a crucial contributor to the world's economy. We had better not spoil a ship for the half-penny-worth of tar.