A common opinion of the modern society is a fact that gender should not be considered as an obstacle for employee when it is looking for a candidate. I agree with that at some extent although it should be noted not all jobs are equal and in some rare cases hiring women may be undesirable.

On the first hand, there obviously must be no restrictions from the law point of view related to gender or race, During years women have shown full capability to be equal as workers in any area, be it construction, medicine or science. Historically jobs, considered as "manly" by society, like IT for example, nowadays become more and more women oriented. Percentage of students in IT universities is almost equal for both genders in Scandinavia countries and even in Russia it now takes more than 20% which was unthinkable just 10 years ago,

On the other hand, some jobs just too unhealthy for women to take. Be it harsh environment, like working on gas producing stations deep in Siberia, or roads pavement with their toxic fumes can easily impact worker health. Which may go easier for men but influence women ability to bear a child.

In conclusion, countries like Russia still have a list of professions forbidden for women, which may sound sexist, but from the point of government, ability of nation to procreate cannot be endangered even at the cost of gender equality and sometimes discriminatory restrictions embedded to society