Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes and what solutions can be offered?

Weight gain is an increasing problem around the world. Mainly obesity is an issue among school children. This essay discusses about causes of obesity and how to overcome it.

To begin with, weight problem among school children is mostly due to unhealthy food. Most of the pupils like to have junk food such as burgers, chips, chocolates and coke. These food items contain fat and sugar only. The students can easily purchase these items from the school cafeteria. In addition, most of the parents have busy schedules. Therefore, children don’t get home made food and they consume food form cafeteria. As a solution, the school can order to replace these junk foods with healthy diet. Milk and fresh fruits can be used as alternatives. Another solution is parents can teach their children to prepare food by themselves.

Secondly, the lifestyle of the most of the students are not active. This is due to use of computer and television. Technology has changed most of our lives. Generally, young people play computer games or watch television during leisure time. This seductive life cycle causes weight problems. Schools should introduce physical activities for their students as hobbies. Swimming, badminton, basketball, football and cricket are some of good sports which provide good physical fitness. Furthermore, parents can encourage their children to involve in more physical activities by taking them to park to interact with others.

In conclusion, I would like to say, obesity is mostly due to the lack of healthy food and lack of physical activities. This can be improved by introducing healthy food and physical activities.