Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Number of criminals are increasing day by day. Some people say most criminals commit to do more crimes after their first punishment. This essay discusses about the reason for this and how to reduce it.

To begin with, main reason criminals trend to do more crimes after first punishment is they live with the other prisoners during the punishment period. Prisoners don’t have anything to do in jail. Therefore, they discuss about previous crimes they did and try to improve the week points of those past activities. Sometimes, they plan crimes to do after they get free.

Secondly, due to lack of financial support and skills they tend to start crimes for living. Normally ex-convicts couldn’t find jobs in the industry. The criminal records don’t allow them to find a job and the community doesn’t accept them as well. Also they don’t have proper qualifications and experience to perform a job.

However, there are so many ways to improve this situation. One method is by introducing of skill enhancement programs in prison. Programs to improve computer literacy, mechanics and agriculture. This will help them to find a job after they move back to local community. Another method is to use prisoners for community work. Then they don’t get the time to spend with other prisoners and it helps to move with the community. In addition, it is very important to build their mental stability by introducing meditation, yoga, dancing during the other spare time.

In conclusion, I would like to say by a proper rehabilitation programme we can improve this situation. Prisoners are also human beings.