Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays technology has played a pivotal role in providing various mode for communication. Since the communication forms have evolved therefore it is considered no longer a necessity to write. In completely agree with this notion as letters will only be used for the formal way of communication. In the below paragraphs I will include relevant examples from my own experience.

In the past during medieval ages communication was only done through letters. People used to write letters to communicate with their loved ones and distant relatives. Additionally, formal notices, official tenders, government orders all used to be communicated via letters. Although it used to take several days for a message to reach the recipient however it was the only option available during such times. With the advancement in technology and improvement in communication tools, letters were eventually replaced by more popular means like mobile phones, and emails whereby a message could be delivered with a few seconds to any distant corner of the world.

Additionally with the advent of internet people found various free of cost platforms like Viber, we chat and WhatsApp which could be used to send voice memos, videos and messages anywhere around the globe. This not only brought convenience to the doorsteps of the users but also impacted the use of letters. For instance, as per the survey recently published by global times in India, more than 90 per cent of people prefer to communicate through modern communication tools rather than letters as it is time-consuming and inconvenient. Hence letters communication in the coming days would be limited only to formal communication like requesting for tender information, government notices, sending formal invites etc. and would continue till modern technology completely replaces it.

To sum up it is evident that through the above examples though letters will still be used for communication for formal events but sooner or later will be replaced by modern communication tools like emails.