Modern technology, such as personal computers and the Internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situations?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Doing official work while seating at comfort of home has become reality. This has happened due to ever growing personal computing, World Wide Web and latest technology. In this essay we will discuss about positive and negative effects of working while staying in our residence.

On one hand, there are several reasons. The main factor is less traffic on roads during peak hours. For example, a lot of professionals drive to work everyday for their 9 to 5 jobs which causes a lot of traffic jam. Secondly, there will be lot of time available to socialize with friends and families. For instance, home office situations saves a lot of travelling time which can be easily utilized to meet and greet family members.

On the other hand, we can also observe some negative points. The main reason is less physical activity. For example, there are many employees who prefer walking to work but once they start working from home they will lose the opportunity to walk and maintain their health. Another point is that it would become really tough for organisations to supervise the employees which means it would be stressful for management to keep track of task deadlines and follow up personally with people responsible to completion of assigned tasks.

Everything has good and bad points. Letting people work from home would ease up traffic and leave more time to spend with loved once however it would also lead to unhealthy lifestyle and difficulties to manage employees. I feel working while we are in our house is good for environment as well, as there will be reduction in electricity consumption at our offices. In conclusion, if used wisely, working while sitting at home is indeed a good idea.