Modern technology, such as personal computers and the Internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

Modern technology has changed the world in more ways than one. Computers not only make our calculations easier, but when coupled with the internet, they have also made it possible for people to work remotely, away from their office’s physical location. This, however, comes with a set of associated advantages and limitations, which are elaborated upon in the following paragraphs.

The advantages of working from home are aplenty. For many people, showing up to work is half the battle since their commute has a lot of traffic, which makes them mentally and physically tired even before reaching the office. Working from home would result in lesser traffic jams which is more environmentally friendly. It saves money, since one wouldn’t have to fill up as much fuel for their vehicles. Employees can take care of personal matters without having to take a vacation day or having their salary cut. In times like the Coronavirus pandemic, working from home is most prudent so that many people aren’t infected easily, thereby helping ease the burden on the healthcare system.

On the flip side, the internet may sometimes have low speeds, resulting in delays during important meetings. Increased screen time from working at home could result in deterioration of eye health and the release of UV rays from computers could also damage the brain in the long term. Most importantly, people lose the social aspect of work if they decide to work from home. The physical interactions during team meetings or the banter between colleagues during lunch and coffee breaks are just as important as doing the assigned work. Modern technology cannot simulate these social interactions.

While the use of modern technology to work from home can save time, money, be environmentally friendly and have the ability to curb the spread of infections, it can also result in deterioration of one’s health and loss of socialization with friends and colleagues. Hence, it is up to the individuals to consider both advantages and limitations before deciding to work from home.