Modern technology, such as personal computers and the internet, has made it possible for many people to work from their home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

More and more people have opted to work from home since the latest technologies enabled them to do so. Despite the apparent drawbacks of this trend, I believe that its benefits outweigh such challenges.

There are two fundamental disadvantages of this scheme. One major challenge is that those working from their flats or apartments rely on a stable internet connection to maintain communication with their colleagues. Unless they can secure a high-speed networking solution at their places, their productivity levles will be suffered. Another difficulty is the lack of face-to-face interactions between coworkers when people work from home. This means that professionals who work from external locations might feel less connected to their team. Nevertheless, these issues can be addressed by investing in high-speed internet data plans at home or video-calling with other team members more regularly to enhance their relationships.

On the other hand, enabling employees to work from anywhere will bring an array of benefits to both employers and their workers. Firstly, the possibility to work from home enables parents to keep their jobs while taking care of their young children. Otherwise, young mothers might have to quit their job to do housework, resulting in an impact to the workforce. Secondly, instead of commuting for hours to get to work in large cities, people who live far from their offices can avoid transit time by working from home. Finally, companies’ owners will save significant costs when they support that model of work because fewer people in the offices leads to smaller office spaces and lower operating costs.

In conclusion, though working from home could be challenging for some, it seems to me that the gains are more significant than those difficulties.