In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

One of the most challenging problems of today’s society is the question who should be responsible ofr our old people. It’s not only a financial problem but also a question of the system we want our society to have. In my essay, I would like to four different models.

Firstly, the company can be responsible for their retired employees. For this reason a special fund could be established. The advantage of this model is that it should be the cheapest solution if everyone believe in the capitalist system. A possible problem is that the companies might have competition disadvantage due to higher staff costs.

A second solution is that the government has to take the responsibility for the old people’s care. It can finance this with its tax incomes. Actually, this is the most democratic model sinc everybody gets as much money as he or she needs. Unfortunately, as the present situation in our country shows, this solution seems not to work very well. The government can no longer afford supporting all the old people.

Another way of solving this problem is to give back the responsibility to the individual. This means that everybody has to save money during their working life for the time after their retirement. This seems to be not a very fair model because their will certainly exist people who can’t afford to save part of their salary. In this case the government would have to save for them.

A last solution is to go back to the old model of the big family who cares for all their members. I do not think this is possible in our days society because the family structures have so much changes.

To sum up, I have to admit that I cannot find a really good solution for this problem. All models have advantages and disadvantages. Certainly we have to think about this topic much more in the future.