The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life.

it is true that companies nowadays attract talents at all ages to their workforce. while the multigenerational workplaces present unique challenges for the companies, I would argue that their productivity gains outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, the differences between colleagues in a diverse working environment may bring about difficulties for collaboration. From a collaborative perspective, communication channel preferences of different age groups may be varied depending on their age groups. Senior employees, for example, tend to opt for email or written documents, while younger people may opt for instant messaging tools such as Skype. From a human developmental perspective, employees at different ages typically have different career goals and aspirations, and this will urge the H.R. departments to develop a universal plan for all employees.

Nevertheless, companies that can leverage the dynamics of a multigenerational workforce will bring out the best in their people and build a healthy talent pipeline. Firstly, diversity drives innovations and healthy arguments from people with different perspectives. If a company has only people with the same view, it will possibly run into blind spots due to limited viewpoints. Secondly, having a range of employees at different ages will ensure sustainable business growth with proper resources to fill potential positions. Moreover, instead of hiring managers from external candidates, such firms can develop their own leaders from the pool of young employee.

In conclusion, though a multigenerational workplace may inhibit some challenges at the surface, it seems to me that such workplace brings about more benefits for the company in the long-term.