People living in cities today do not get enough exercise. Why? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is true that city dwellers should be more active in order to maintain good health. Although there are many reasons for their lack of physical activities, this situation could be addressed by encouraging more people to exercise in some practical ways.

There are two primary reasons why people residing in metropolises have too little workout in their daily routines. One key rationale is that many people are overwhelmed by the pressure of work and life. Professionals who work full-time, for example, have limited time left after-work to go to the gym or take part in physical exercises. Likewise, most people who live in city centers have to deal with traffic congestion which is a time-consuming problem in such areas. Another reason is that modern cities present only a handful of options for their citizen to keep fit. While there are more choices to take on physical activities in the countryside such as swimming in rivers or running in open fields, city inhabitants typically workout in the gyms or run in the parks.

It is possible, however, to take steps to improve the habit of exercising for those who live in modern cities. Firstly, government bodies should provide more public facilities for physical training purposes. If more training centers are accessible and free of charge, citizens will gradually take part in activities in these places. The governments can also subsidize private companies to establish affordable gyms across their cities, ensuring a broad coverage of training centers for people of all ages. Secondly, every individual should value their health over other priority such as work and money. Unless citizens make time to go to such sports centers, their fitness levels will remain the same. For instance, reading fitness books and watching health-related programs on T.V. can raise the awareness of viewers, resulting in appreciation for more personal fitness time.

In conclusion, though several reasons lead to insufficient physical activities in modern cities, practical measures are presented to improve the current situation.