Some people say schools should be responsible to teach young adults to look after their health, others think this is not responsibility of schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether schools should be accountable to educate youngsters about the importance of a healthy lifestyle or not remains a controversy. In my view, while these institutions are not the primary source for health-related advises, they still play a key role in raising the awareness of being healthy for their students.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people argue that schools should not cover topics such as personal fitness lessons. These critics may claim that such institutions ought to focus on academic subjects such as science, history, and literature, putting beside personal health topics. When students go to school, they should devote all of their time to getting good grades at such academic areas. Meanwhile, parents or family members are the ones who responsible for the health status of their children. As these individuals live together with the students, they may provide better lessons about health for these youngsters.

On the other hand, I believe that schools should make sure that their students are knowledgeable in essential personal health topics. Firstly, those who go to school should not only be literate but also be healthy. Maintaining a good health is a vital element of being an excellent student. If the person is sick or cannot go to schools, the person will not sustain his or her academic performance. Secondly, for many years, educational institutions have integrated physical education to the overall curriculum via physical education classes. Compared to the total time of other classes, such physical training classes consume minimal time of young students. Finally, many parents are not quite ready or qualified to teach their children the vital benefits of being healthy. For example, those who smoke will have a difficult time sharing about the dangers of smoking.

In conclusion, it seems to me that schools are in charge of teaching children the benefits of a healthy lifestyle even though these institutions might not be the only source.