Some people say schools should be responsible to teach young adults to look after their health, others think this is not responsibility of schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Health is that imperative part of our lives without which everything in life is worthless. Children are quite inconsiderate about it and do not know the actual value of it. While a few people believe that their educational institute is responsible for creating awareness among them, others think in contrast. In my opinion, school is the most suitable place for it.

To begin with, two most indispensable reasons are school timings and availability of facilities at school. Pupils spend quite a huge part of their day there. Typical schooling hours, in India, are eight hours a day that starts from early morning. After school hours, children do not have substantial time to take care for their health; therefore, schools should take this responsibility and fulfill it. In addition, almost every educational institute possesses facilities, such as playgrounds, fitness center, and health experts. Students, together with their studies, ought to be motivated to avail it. As they are not often available easily, for that reason, school could be an apt place to indulge pupils in healthy activities.

However, some people think that instead of schools, parents should be responsible, which is a common fallacy. As parents spend almost entire day at work, they do not have sufficient time to teach anything to their child. According to the recent survey, conducted by BBC News, more than 80 per cent of parents only meet their children at night, whereas 10 per cent do not even get a chance to talk to them. The remaining 10% parents are those who might teach them, which is quite low percentage of people. Thus, relying on guardians would be a mistake.

In summary, I completely agree that acquisition of knowledge about health, and its practice among young adolescents can be better learned at schools. This is because of schooling hours and resources at schools, which make them an appropriate place for it. Parents, on the other hand, should not be responsible as they are extremely busy with their work.