Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so the medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do you think the disadvantages of the private health care outweigh the advantages?

Some people argue that medical services should be public services only because they are fundamental needs of citizens. In my view, the private sector should also involve in this process because there are more gains then drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is true that revenues may affect medical decisions which are critical to patients. One primary reason is that doctors may prioritize profits over the best option for the patient. In fact, private health entities are known for expensive bills, which may be over the patients' budget. Moreover, they may recommend extra check-ups and inspections that are not necessary for the person purely because of money motivations. Another reason is that private hospitals tend to suggest extended recovery time and in-hospital care. Though extra days in the intensive care facility is beneficial for the person, its cost can be a huge burden for them when they are discharged.

On the other hand, private healthcare businesses deliver distinct benefits to their customers. First of all, many wealthy people are willing to pay for premium services on top of essential offers. As health is of vital to most people, they are ready to pay if the quality of care is up to their standards. Secondly, private hospitals offer a wide range of services for people of all ages such as personalized healthcare or mental consultations which traditional counterparts do not provide. These new offers not only deliver exceptional care and treatments but also support people prevent illness. Last but not least, public facilities may not be sufficient for a booming population, so additional supplement from another sector is critical to ensure the coverage of healthcare providers.

In conclusion, though profit-oriented businesses pose certain limitations due to their primary motivation in the healthcare industry, their distinct benefits outweigh the shortcomings.