Some people think that good health is a basic human-need, so the medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do you think the disadvantages of private health care outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays, the profit-making conglomerate response to take care of individual health by running the medical services while some people concur that the government should play this role. I decline the merit than the demerit due to its convenience and expense

On the one hand, this tendency is the root of some negative effects. Firstly, the individual health insurance of the government is excluded in private hospitals, leading to the exorbitantly higher cost for service treatments. To benefit from the cost reduction of these services, the patients and their families have to pay the amount of money that depends on the annual policies of companies to access the treatments at a reasonable price, causing the burden for their monthly salaries. Secondly, the disqualified doctors hired by these companies can trigger the risk of false diagnoses. In spite of the life of the patients, chasing profit is the ultimate goal of these firms so the usage of doctors who lack of experience and qualities can bring a huge benefit to private hospitals by saving a lot of money for expert ones. As a result, the quality of services cannot meet the patient’s expectations leading to a significant decrease in the number of illness people who come for health diagnoses and treatments

On the other hand, this tendency also brings undoubtedly positive effects. Firstly, people can benefit from the rivalry of companies and the government at the expense of medical services such as drug prices. To attract more consumers using their products, the enterprises usually drop the price of products lower than its price in the market, facilitating the diverse consumptions in drug products providing by them. As a result, people might have a chance to approach the good drugs with the mitigation in the cost, saving a lot of money spending for them every month. Secondly, the time-consuming for the waiting list is waived by individual services, exceeding the convenience of consumers. If patients have life-threatening issues that require an emergency in a short time, the private hospitals can be prioritized since the intervention in time with precise treatments can save them instead of general hospitals where are always full of patients. Furthermore, these hospitals are expanding to less accessible regions to ensure that many customers can approach adequately medical health care and limit the overload situation of government health facilities.

In conclusion, despite the drawbacks of medical health care being provided by corporations, I reckon the merits are overwhelming the demerits by its convenience and expense.