More and more money is being spent on buying tickets for sports and cultural events. Is it good or bad? Give your opinion.

Expenditure on buying tickets for sporting and cultural festivals or events is on the rise. Certain sections of the society believe that it is beneficial while others are of a different opinion. Though spending a lot of money may not seem to be a good idea but it is definitely worth every penny.

To embark upon, in yesteryears people had limited options for entertainment like going for movies, having a meal at a nearby restaurant etc. As a result, they developed a lack of interest for such activities. Therefore, new and innovative ways of recreation have emerged. From attending a live football or a cricket match of your favorite club to watching your favorite band play in front of your eyes. Due to the sudden rise of the middle class in India with fat salaries, people are now shifting to different avenues of having fun and frolic. For example: Cricket and football leagues like IPL and ISL are drawing humongous crowds every year as people want to see their favorite sport star live at any cost whatsoever. Moreover, plethora of university students prefer to spend their pocket money on buying concert tickets and watch their favorite band play, rather than flushing out money on the same and boring movie or theater act.

On the other hand, even though there is a developing trend but there is definitely a flip side to this story. As more and more people line up to encounter their beloved sport or musician, organizers, taking an undue advantage of the situation have hiked the entry prices by manifolds. A similar pattern has been observed at literacy events like: music festivals and debates where not only ticket prices have gone up but the food and beverages available onsite are being sold at exorbitant rates, that too quite openly. Also, because of an increased rush and unavailability of tickets, few organizers are allowing entry to crazy fans by the means of charging them double or even triple the amount. For example: Tickets for a league match in IPL have a starting price of Rs. 5000 per person. So, a family of four will have to spend a fortune in order to see a cricket match. Recently, police have busted a ticket mafia who used to provide illegal access to few fans by selling the entry passes in the grey market.

To conclude, wherever there is good there is bound to be evil. Therefore, in my opinion, spending money and getting a good dose of entertainment will not harm anyone.