Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement. Give the reason and relevant examples.

Sports that involve risk to life or that can cause serious injuries is the bone of contention for long. Some sections of the society believe that such sports should be prohibited while some don't even blink an eye for it. Although, it seems wise to ban dangerous/contact sports but this essay will explain why it is not in the best of interests for some individuals.

To embark upon, it seems to be prudent to stop dangerous sporting activities because of the number of lives that are lost while indulging in such activities. Moreover, the fad of participating in risky sports is on an increase among youngsters now a days. In either case, a person involved in such sports dies or is bound to a wheel chair. Physical pain and struggle is just the tip of an iceberg. What lies beneath, is extreme mental trauma and social stigma. To rub salt on the wounds, family is the worst affected in this case. Pressure of heavy medical expenditure and rejection of insurance push a lot of people beneath poverty line. For instance, a survey conducted by European Union governing body for sports showed shocking statistic. At least 40% of the high altitude skiers, mountaineers and bungee jumpers, though small in number, are seriously injured crippling them for life. And, 20% of them, die a painful death. Those who survive have declared themselves bankrupt & are taken care by the government subsidies or grants.

On the other hand, the number of such people discussed in the example previously are merely handful. Though, each and every life is important, but, people who involve themselves in extreme and dangerous sports are mature and have already reached a legal age. In a free society, individuals are independent enough to take their decisions themselves , and, stand responsible for the consequences. So, ultimately it boils down to each person's choice or interest. Thrill and excitement is the ultimate goal they achieve by performing such sports. Definitely, there is a huge amount of risk involved but so does driving on the road or highway. For example, according to a study the largest killer in this world is not extreme sports but driving your favorite car on the highway. So, would you ban it? Definitely Not!

In conclusion, it clearly shows that hazardous sports does leave people in agony & many lose their lives. But, I agree to the fact that it is a matter of choice and personal decision that people make and hence such sporting activities should not be prohibited or stopped.