More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity has become one of the most popular issues in mordern sociaty. The fact that overweight can lead to many serious health problems does not stop people from eating junk foods. Thus, some people believe that by increasing the price of fattening foods, we can solve this problem. However, from my point of view, this solution cannot solve the root of the issue.

Firstly, if we consider fattening foods as a kind of harmful product, we could add more tax on them, like what we are doing with cigarettes. However, the cost of unhealthy foods becomes cheaper and cheaper because of the high productive food industry, junk foods now are affordable for most people. In addition, we cannot deny the convenience fast food brings to us. Hence, increasing the price of unhealthy food just help increase income of manufacturer and governments, it cannot help people lose weight.

Secondly, there are two things people need to do to lose weight: keeping a balance diet and doing exercise. The price of junk food is irrelevant to these things. The only way can change people eating habit is by helping them understand the circumstances of being overweight. Once people acknowledge how serious their situations are, they will change themselves. Instead of adding tax, government can run more campaigns such as free checkup to citizens, making TV programs about the harmfulness of obesity, so that people will aware more about their health.

In conclusion, increasing the price of fattening food is not a good solution for overweight issue. People need to aware about their own health problem and change by themselves.