More and more people are buying ready to eat foods instead of cooking themselves. Does this development has more advantages or more disadvantages?

These days many people prefer to go for ready-made food over preparing at home. Although, it saves time in today’s busy schedule of people but increases the risk to health as pre-made food for consumption is not healthy.

One evident benefit to having food which is already made and packaged is saving the most valuable thing of today’s world is ‘Time’. Overly demanding work schedules, long traveling time to office places reduces the time and energy people finally get for themselves. So, getting ready-made food for breakfast, lunch and dinner could save them a couple of hours every day which they can spend on self well-being or with family and friends. This is a clear advantage that people feel and hence choose ready to eat food.

On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to having packaged foods daily. Firstly, it impacts health in the long run which people fail to realize and hence they ignore. Packaged food comes with preservatives and other chemicals that ensure the food to be in consumable condition for a longer period, but it impacts the health of the consumer. Secondly, the tradition of home cooking food which is always considered healthy as people can cook according to their health requirements would diminish and will create a society which will be prone to different health-related problems in the future.

In conclusion, having pre-cooked packaged food saves time but the consumption should be limited and only for unavoidable situations as it impacts health in the long run, it is taken frequently. Cooking at home should be done more regularly.