More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but cities can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Nowadays, the number of emigrants moving to cities in the hope of higher life standards is skyrocketing. City life, however, is not that easy, in contrast, it can be a huge challenge. There exist a number of problems that newcomers would face. At the same time, some measures can be taken by authorities to improve life in urban areas.

Clearly, leaving villages and then settling in big cities are not without its conundrums. First and foremost, it would take a prolonged period of time to assimilate into the dominant culture of metropolitans. Being total strangers and not knowing any people, these immigrants may suffer being far away from their family as well as their hometown. Second, the cost of living in cities is much higher than it is in rural areas. Unfortunately, these newcomers would have to sell their lands back in their town, if they own any, or work for lower wages jobs just to cover their basic needs. Thus, most of them might not be able to lead a happy life in cities.

However, the role of lawmakers can be of paramount importance in this respect. Should they intensify their efforts to facilitate urban areas more, a fewer number of their individuals will desert their hometown looking for a brighter future. Giving out suitable loans or mortgages, providing them with up-to-date technologies and facilities that city dwellers have, and constructing modern healthcare centers and educational buildings are salient illustrations in this matter. People in power should also give financial incentives and tax discounts to the farmers in order to encourage them to stay and cultivate their lands. In this way, many job prospects will be available to young job seekers of these places.

In conclusion, it has never been easy to migrate to urban areas, particularly from rural places. I firmly believe that legislators of each country can mitigate the negative consequences of this modern phenomenon by supporting indigenous people of villages and small towns.