More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be
extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can
governments make urban life better for everyone?
Cities are often seen as places of opportunity, but there are also some major drawbacks of
living in a large metropolis. In my opinion, governments could do much more to improve city
life for the average inhabitant.
The main problem for anyone who hopes to migrate to a large city is that the cost of living is
likely to be much higher than it is in a small town or village. Inhabitants of cities have to pay
higher prices for housing, transport, and even food. Another issue is that urban areas tend to
suffer from social problems such as high crime and poverty rates in comparison with rural
areas. Furthermore, the air quality in cities is often poor, due to pollution from traffic, and the
streets and public transport systems are usually overcrowded. As a result, city life can be
unhealthy and stressful.
However, there are various steps that governments could take to tackle these problems.
Firstly, they could invest money in the building of affordable or social housing to reduce the
cost of living. Secondly, politicians have the power to ban vehicles from city centres and
promote the use of cleaner public transport, which would help to reduce both air pollution
and traffic congestion. In London, for example, the introduction of a congestion charge for
drivers has helped to curb the traffic problem. A third option would be to develop provincial
towns and rural areas, by moving industry and jobs to those regions, in order to reduce the
pressure on major cities.
In conclusion, governments could certainly implement a range of measures to enhance the
quality of life for all city residents.