More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to relocate to cities in order to look for work. What will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer?

Nowadays, the constantly growing number of people from non-urban areas are leaving for cities because of the possibilities to find a better job there. This process has a crucial influence on the further development of both country-side and cities. There are a number solutions which should be implemented to deal with the issue.

Firstly, though controlled migration from rural areas brings about improved employment opportunities standards of living, technological and infrastructural advancement, it also leads to overcrowding, which in turns contributes to fierce competition and the rise of unemployment, elevates prices for housing and leads to the spread of slums, where people suffer from sanitation problems, violence, drug abuse and crime.

However, governments may lessen the negative effects of urbanization by tourism promotion and encouraging private investments to the sphere of natural resources utilization which would help create more job opportunities. Moreover, smart growth technologies should be advocated, that is sustainable use of world’s resources, renewable energy, and environmentally friendly materials. On the other hand, investments should also be attracted to the rural areas. The main objective here is not only to create job opportunities but also to further develop the agricultural sector of economy which is interrelated with human well-being. Besides, young people might be subsidized while studying at the universities if they agree to work afterwards at the agricultural enterprises in the area.

In conclusion, considering the fact that people have the urge of migrating to the areas with better life prospects, efforts should be made in order to improve and control the level of living conditions and development in different aspects of life in both urban and non-urban areas.