More and more people are opting for ready-made food instead of freshly cooked food. Are there any advantages or disadvantages to this? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that there is an increasing trend in people choosing pre-made food rather than homemade food in their diet. This tendency has both pros and cons. In my opinion, freshly cooked food is preferable for a good eating habit.

Timesaving and convenience seems to be the most tempting element for people to select read-to-made food. Nowadays, people are living in a busy life, they are engaged in different aspects, like working, taking care of children. They only want something fast and easy to get. The grab-and-go food shops which selling all prepacked food, like sandwiches and frozen meal box is now ubiquitous in the town demonstrated that people are now hungering for a quick and hassle-free eating habit. People agree that if they spend less time preparing a meal and do the washing after the meal, they will have more free time. In result, more and more people get used to eating instant food.

Although pre-made food gives us convenience, we should never neglect the drawbacks it brings. The primary concern of pre-packed food is its high sodium and fat content. High salt and oil are two main factors contributing to serious health problems, such as, cardiovascular disease, heart attack and obesity. A study conducted by the World Health Organization shows that people who consume ready-to made food constantly for over six months are more susceptible to heart-related diseases and obesity. Apart from salt and fat, adding preservatives and additives to pre-made food is inevitable as it helps preserve the food and make it more mouth-watering. Furthermore, the packing materials, for example, foam boxes and plastic wraps, of pre-packed food are not environmentally friendly. And, the processes of producing these materials generate greenhouse gas extensively. All in all, it worsens the situation of global warming.

In sum, ready-made food brings us convenience, however, its disadvantages should not be ignored. We should adopt a healthy eating habit in the seek of better health and environment.