Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable while others think it is making them less sociable.

Discuss both view and give your opinion

People have different views on whether people interact more or less under the influence of technology innovations. Modern technology brings people closer than ever.

The main reason explains why people think that advancement of technology makes people less socially active is that people are spending more time on it rather than interact with each other. For example, children now prefer playing video games than having a small talk with their parents. Furthermore, due to the development of communication applications, likes WhatsApp, people are rarely talking over phones, instead, they communicate by texting each other. It, in the result, hinders face-to-face interaction of people and making them less sociable.

However, I consider people are more extroverted with the aid of modern technology. Firstly, technology allows people to keep in contact with others without a physical barrier. For instance, people are able to make friends and share their view to others who lived on the side of the planet. Secondly, advancement of technology shortened the travelling time which allows people to meet more frequently. In the past, I required 3 hours train journey to visit my grandparents. The long journey really discouraged me from visiting them. Thanks to the upgrade of the train operation system, it only takes 1.5 hours now. I can now visit them more frequently. Finally, people are more willing to express themselves through social media. The emerging of social media, like youtube, acts as a new channel for people to express their thoughts and communicate with others.

In sum, people may be less sociable to some extent because of modern technology. However, people are brought closer and contact more frequently by technology innovations.