More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by a modern lifestyle which cannot be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicine should be encouraged. To what extend do you agree?

Lifestyle has been changed since the time of revolution. People have more comfortable living than in olden days. Because of the change in lifestyle people are clutched by the variety of diseases which has not seen in the past and hence it is often argued that traditional medicines should be practiced over the modern medication. However, I disagree with this view and think that modern medicines should be followed.

There are multifarious benefits of adopting to modern medicines over the traditional. Firstly, modern medicines provide fast recovery of any disease where traditional methods may take time to cure the same disease. Although, it is beneficial to prefer the traditional way over hazardous chemical drugs in some scenarios. For example, sleeping disorder is one of the biggest issues which many people face these days because of the high level of stress, which could be treated by traditional method known as acupressure which is more effective than the chemical drug.

Secondly, traditional methodologies are not scientifically proven. There is a significant difference in a way people used to live before to these days. In earlier days lives were full of strenuous work and people were much healthy than today. Also there are many evidences where people had to sacrifice the life in olden days because there was no proper treatment available. It proves that traditional methods were inefficient to cure the disease. For example, there was crude death rate due to plague. But because of the advent in technologies there is solution for this disease which is achieved by the researcher and scientist. However some disease cannot eradicate fully but can do stability to greater extent with the help of modern medication.

To summarize, I agree that the traditional way of treatments are free from side effects but modern day techniques are much faster to treat ailments and which are continuously under research of scientist than the traditional medicines which are constant.