The private vehicle production surges in recent years because of the increasing demand from the public. However, some people assert surplus private car use could negatively impact the environment while others embrace the conveniences that come with buying their own car. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of the private vehicle and why its related impacts on the environment should be considered more.

It is true that people could be benefited by having their own vehicles such as a more flexible lifestyle and more comfortable space. People therefore unnecessary to follow the public transportation’s fixed route and to seat in the congested environment. However, the high cost comes with such benefits could be not ignored. The individuals’ commute cost, a significant part of our living cost, could be considerably different between the private car and the public bus.

On the other hand, some people claim that private car could exert negative impacts to our society and environment. Firstly, carbon produced by vehicles is one of the major air pollutions that impair people’s health. Many research proved the fact that the cities’ air quality is much lower than in the countryside. Secondly, the explosion of private car use brings the big cities’ the heavy traffic which indirectly cost people more time on the road. Thus, some government are compelled to widen the road and occupy vast greenery areas. What more important is that unnecessary energy consumption might be resulting in the crisis of insufficient power and frown the public in the long run.

This essay evaluated private car’s impact from both positive and negative angles. Personally, I suggest people pay more attention to its impairment to the environment.