More and more people immigrate to English speaking countries to live, work and study. Why is English such an important international language? Why do people immigrate to the aforementioned countries?

Immigration has always been with mankind. Humans migrate due to various purposes including but not limited to economic reasons, health, security as well as stability. The very same reasons seem to be at the core of what motivates millions of people to head to English speaking countries. Some of these reasons I am going to discuss in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, many people are attracted to salaries offered in English speaking countries. These countries generally pay a lot more than many other countries for different jobs. For example, an Indian doctor may find it very hard to get a decent employment package with a reasonable salary in her native of India. However, the very same doctor is looking at over five thousand pounds a month if she manages to settle down in the United Kingdom. So, it becomes reasonable why many people from poorer economies prefer to move to English speaking countries.

Furthermore, English is the language of international trade and communications. It is officially recognized as the language of banking, of finance and of the internet. Thus, millions of people head to English speaking countries such as America and Australia in a bid to brush up their language skills. For instance, a Chinese student who plans to begin his graduate studies at a high-profile(ranking) university in the United Kingdom is required to sit the IELTS exam and to score more than seven overall at this exam. By taking up this step, this hypothetical Chinese individual will acquire a unique skill-set that can help him get a decent job upon his return to China.

All in all, there are many different reasons why people move to English speaking countries. The reasons may differ depending on where the potential immigrants originate from. However, the majority of people find countries such as United States, Britain, Australia and Canada more desirable for living.