More and more people today are drinking sugar-based drinks.

What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions?

It is true that, beverages that contain sugar are becoming excessively popular. There appear to be three main causes of this, and several possible solutions, as we will explain here.

To begin with, the reasons behind the high rate of sugar-based drinks consumption are the modern lifestyle of individuals which encourage them to consume unhealthy, high-calorie food and drinks in order to maintain the energy balance of the body. Nowadays in a competitive market, manufacturers promote their products without appropriate data about the content of the product on the food labels. To put it simply, food companies hide the sugar content of products by listing the names of sweeteners like glucose, fructose, sucrose, grape concentrate instead of sugar, as a result, people unknowingly consume sugar. Moreover, celebrities promote a sugar-based drinks, hence fans purchase sugar added soft drinks to emulate their idols. For instance, as a result of Messi`s promotion of Pepsi, Pepsi`s sales increased significantly.

Regarding potential solutions, firstly individuals themselves should develop a habit to read all the contents of the soft drinks, which they are going to consume. Despite the fact that many drinks contain sugar, people should to choose alternatives like green tea and mineral water which is good for their health. Secondly, parents should teach their children not to imitate everything which is broadcasted on television and on the internet. In addition to it, probably the main remedy would be the rise of people`s awareness about food. Also, government should support scientists who want to implement healthy diet into society. For example, journal Science published an article about the scientist whose research was invested by authorities. Due to the government`s funding, the research that was conducted in order to introduce healthy diet to the Chinese population completed successfully.

In conclusion, the ubiquity of sugary drinks due to the celebrities and companies which are eager to exploit numerous methods to fatten their bottom line. However, this issue can be curbed through thoughtful regulation of individuals and government.