More and more qualified people are moving from poor to rich countries to fill vacancies in specialist areas like engineering, computing and medicine. Some people believe that by encouraging the movement of such people, rich countries are stealing from poor countries. Others feel that this is only part of the natural movement of workers around the world.

There is an exponential increase in the number of professionals in impoverished countries migrating to

the rich ones to get such jobs that require certain expertise as IT, engineering and the like. Many

speculate that these rich nations are intent to take manpower from the poor ones. From my point of

view, I totally disagree with this belief.

On the one hand, the activity of skilled labour moving to richer countries is more of a voluntary decision.

It depends on the workers’ mind whether they will move to other countries to work or not, which

underpins the idea that these rich countries have no relevant connections to the workers’

determination. It’s also the destitute conditions of the poor countries themselves, compared to the rich

counterparts, that the workers will be more likely to move to richer countries in order to better their life

by getting access to more cutting-edge facilities as well as higher living standards. Take Vietnam as a

prime example, it is a developing countries whose number of migrant workers to the USA is among the

highest in the world, in which most of the workers higher salary and life quality as the main reasons for

leaving their home country.

On the other hand, rich countries’ inducing skillful labours from poor ones to come and work for them

does not aim at stealing human resource, but for other purposes which provide both countries with

various advantages. Firstly, when in the process of applying for job in a foreign country, most workers

will have an interview, in which they are asked whether they will return to their country or not, whose

aim is to reassure that the answer will be “Yes”. In other words, a rich nation provides the qualified

workers to work for it in a certain amount of time and then has a policy to return them back to their

countries so that the rich nation itself as well as the poor one will be able to reap a variety of benefits.

For instance, a rich country can capitalize on this to reinforce its empowering factors in various aspects

such as diplomatic links, mutual integration or even economy, while the poor countries will be able to

have their skilled labours come back and contribute the best to them simultaneously.

Some believe that through doing this, rich countries are stealing from the poor ones. However, they

forget to take into considerations that it is intrinsically the workers themselves that call the shot in this

case. The different conditions between the two countries as well as the return policy of the rich

countries should also be factored in so that these rich countries will no long be called a stealer.

In conclusion, due to the factor mentioned, namely the mutual benefits of this activity as well as the

workers’ subjective choices, it is clear that the rich countries are not stealing from the poor ones.