More and more work is being carried out by machines in all area of our lives. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Today, we can see that machines have taken place in almost every sphere of our life be it agriculture ,industry, service sector or health care and education system. This essay will discuss some obvious benefits of this change like better quality of products and services and possibility of need based production and on the other hand few drawbacks as well.

First of all the use of modern high-tech machines have considerably enhanced the quality of the products produced. These help to produce standard quality products with very less defects as compared to the traditional hand-made methods. For instance, introduction of high-technology production techniques like six sigma had been possible only because of the use of automatic machinery, wherein there are merely 3.6 defects per million parts being reported. Another major advantage is the reduction of process time by leaps and bounds. It is a fact that machines can work continuously with little or no human interventions and production can be increased hypothetically 'n' number of times just by installing more machines . Therefore, we would not have to wait for anything because it can be produced rapidly as per the requirements.

However, the biggest apprehension about the use of machines is that it leads to huge unemployment at all levels. These days machines can work continuously 24 hours by 7 days a week without break which is not possible for the human beings. So, it has led to people being thrown out of work due to usage of technology in every sphere of life be it in factories, in back office operations work or on the construction sites. Furthermore, too much reliability on machines has been detrimental for the survival of the traditional skills and creativity of the previous generations. We can see that traditional arts and crafts and other skills which totally depended on the imagination and creativity of human beings are dying out for example, the traditional architectural styled buildings and classical musical instruments made by hand.

In conclusions, it can be observed that there are plethora of advantages of using machines to the society and businesses at large but there are also irreversible negative effects like the huge redundancy and losing of traditional skills.