Q .Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this ? is it a positive or negative development ?

One of the most common types of activities young adults now embark on during their spare time is shopping. In my opinion, I hold the view that it is a negative trend, but before discussing it in details, this essay will first discuss increased disposable income as a reason for the rise in this forms of activities.

The reason why shopping has gained popularity as the top forms of leisure activity in recent times is mainly due to people profits. While in the past, people could only work so hard to earn a little to cater for the basic need of their family and save for the future. This is no longer the case as individuals now have multiple sources of income, which implies that they tend to make extra profits from investment, full time and part-time work, which gives them the privilege of spending money on shopping activities without negatively impacting on the family commitment and keep fund outside for the future. A prime example is the case of the UK workers who used you earn £6 per hour but they are currently receiving as much as £30 per hours for the same job.

It is considered a negative trend because it has resulted in a high rate of pollution. In other words, shopping has increased the number of packaging plastic bags, cartons and other chemical used to preserve goods. While some of the waste items are degradable, others, such as plastics are not and it has littered human ecosystem as well as causing harm to some species. To illustrate, a recent study in the UK, which looked at the effect of plastics on fish in the ocean, found that 20% of fishes die daily owing to their inability to break down consumed in non-degradable waste in the marine animal stomach.

In summary, young people choice of undertaking in shopping activities as a way of leisure is becoming well-known in recent time. This is traceable to the availability of extra income, and I consider this a negative development because of the massive pollution it has on our surrounding.