Should children attend nursery school prior to primary school? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Answer :

At the age of three, children start attending nursery followed by primary school in many countries. Whether this norm is advantageous or disadvantageous is a topic for debate. In my opinion,this has upper hand as children’s not only become socially active but it also provides the base for future studies.

To commence with, Montessori is the place where a child starts his/her social life .He/she is left alone with the students of same age group. It is perhaps, the best place for children to enhance their interactive skills, which is a crucial milestone to attend for their social development. Teachers’ engage pupils in various activities and games that aids them to communicate with each other, creates a sense of belongingness as well as make them think independently. Although parents can teach their offsprings at home,they lack in skills and also have insufficient time to devoid to their child. Hence,it is clear that admitting children to preschool is a wise decision .

Furthermore ,in primary school it is expected that students should be able to read , write alphabets and numbers and also have basic knowledge of identifying common fruits, colors, animals.Therefore, kindergarden becomes the foundation of the education because here children are taught alphabets and numbers . If a child is enrolled directly into primary standard, he/she may find it difficult to cope up with their studies.For example,in India first standard syllabus includes reading and writing words and by attending preschool they are ready to start proper schooling . This shows that preschools are essential to have a good education background.

In conclusion,I believe nursery is the important steping stone in building a strong base of a child’s academic life and in his /her overall growth which makes it a positive development.