Today, younger and older generations are in the same workplace. Does the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is an upsurge in the way workplaces employ different age groups, be it younger or older individuals. Although this notion has few demerits, there are also several benefits such as a company’s overall productivity and exchange of knowledge among the different age groups.

Admittedly, there are some disadvantages in a working model where the elderly and the youth work in a convergent manner. Unlike the younger employees, who are always energetic and innovative, older people lack in enthusiasm and the pace they complete their work in, thanks to their age. For example, many organizations today are initiating programs among its employees to eradicate the factors engendering the disparity between its different groups of employees. Hence, it is evident that a company has to take extra measures, when it comes to increasing the spontaneity and productivity of its employees.

Nevertheless, despite the drawbacks mentioned above, there are a myriad of merits for a workplace to have employees work collectively, irrespective of their age. One of the most preponderant benefit is the ability with which all the employees are flexible to adapt and learn from each other. In other words, young employees can learn from the experiences and knowledge shared by their older counterparts. Similarly, the enthusiasm demonstrated by the younger employees can encourage the older people to be more proactive while working. Needless to say, a workplace with employees of different ages is efficacious to both the company and its employees.

In conclusion, while different age groups face minor challenges when they work together, the benefits such as instilling knowledge and motivation in each other is believed to be an indispensable factor in a company’s growth. It is hoped that this trend continues in the foreseeable future.