Q .Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this ? is it a positive or negative development ?

A. Nowadays ,it is undeniably true to see many young people spending their spare time doing nothing but shopping either online or from brick and mortal stores .In my opinion, it is mere a peer pressure which drags them to do so , and this invariably has given rise to a throwaway society ,which is undoubtedly a negative repercussion.

Recently ,shopping malls and high street markets are overcrowded than ever before, especially during weekends and holidays. This is perhaps an effect of peer pressure which is rising significantly among youngsters and adults . People get influenced by their colleagues and friends and in order to get fit into the cohort they recklessly buy things whenever they are free. If they do not update themselves with the latest fashion trends and gadgets, they can be bullied by the people around them. This makes clear that people are addicted to shopping because of societal pressure.

Indeed, this trend of consumerism has negative impact on environment. Public have become shopaholic to such an extent that , they not even think once before squandering money on things which they already have at home. To exemplify ,in Times of india a article showed that more than 60% people keep on updating their smart phones by buying latest launched mobile phone ,despite having one in prestine condition .Therefore, the company production has to be increased proportionately with the demand .Utlimately ,lot of non biodegradable waste is collected while manufacturing and packaging , which remains in the environment for years and pollute it.

In conclusion, it is the influencial society which plays the major role in pooling people towards shopping ;however, the pollution which is created by this act is harmful for the environment.