In most countries, weddings are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past.

Why is this the case?

Is it a positive or a negative development?

It has been seen that marriage celebrations are becoming massive and costly event in many countries as compared to the older times. In this essay, I will delve deeper into this topic by discussing different causes and their both positive and negative outcomes on our societies, while expressing my support for the latter.

To begin with, a good reason for believing that wedding ceremonies cost more as opposed to the past is because of improvement in overall population’s purchasing power. This implies that the general populace would probably possess more money than in the past time whereby they could be able to afford expensive celebration by booking luxurious ballrooms and buying pricey wedding outfits. Consequently, this will create a sense of competition between people that they may receive more respect by organizing an enormous occasion thereby producing negative advancement in the society.

On the contrary, having improved transportation infrastructure is one of the reasons why wedding gala is becoming a bigger event. This means that many friends and relatives not only could use different advanced means for transportation such as airplanes, trains or boats, but they might also not spend a fortune to purchase travel tickets to reach the venue, unlike older times. As a result, this will provide the guests another platform to socialize and exchange cultures with different communities, which provides positive outcomes in the long run.

In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinions, I personally believe that expensive weddings produce negative outcomes in the society because this promotes competition amongst communities. If people do not understand this, then we might the population giving more respect to money then its people.