Most employers interview candidates before hiring them. Do you think this is the best way to do it, or are there better alternatives? In your opinion, what is the best method for choosing employees?

In most cases the interview is the last hurdle that an applicant has to clear before landing a job. Interviews probably aren’t a foolproof method of selecting candidates; however, I can’t suggest any better alternatives.

An employer can’t fully assess a candidate’s capabilities, personality or character during an interview. Several personality development centers now prepare candidates for interviews. They are taught how to answer questions that are often asked during interviews. Sometimes a candidate who possesses better qualifications may fail to get the job because of his poor performance in the interview.

However, I don’t think that interviews should be done away with. Employers all over the world use this selection process to find the best candidates. This is a clear sign that interviews are an efficient method of selecting good candidates.

In my opinion, interviews should not be the only criterion for selecting candidates. They should be used in conjunction with written examinations during which a candidate’s proficiency in various subjects can be assessed. In addition, candidates should asked to take part in debates or group discussions. Their real personality and leadership skills will come to the fore during these events.

To conclude, the interview is not a flawed recruitment process. It isn’t perfect but it certainly has more merits than demerits. In fact, when interviews are used in conjunction with other personality tests, they will definitely help businesses find the best candidates. Organisations should also consider hiring fresh graduates on a probationary basis. Those who deliver excellent performance during the probationary period should be hired to fill permanent positions.