Discuss both advantages and disadvantages of working from home

Technology has changed the way we work. The advent of internet and networking solutions has made it possible for many people to work from their home instead of their offices. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative sides of working from home.

On the one hand, many people believe that working from home has many benefits. The most important advantage is that it very convenient. For example, in big cities like Mumbai or Bangalore, where people have to spend around two hours of travelling to reach their offices. If they get an opportunity to work from home, they can save a lot of time. This will improve their work life balance and overall sense of well-being. If employees are working from home, no one will supervise them. They will do their job with utmost concentration and interest as a result it will improve the quality of work they do and help them to achieve more in less time. Perhaps, working from home has the biggest advantage that people can work flexible hours. For an instance, this is more helpful for the mother of young children. Therefore, working from home will allow a mother of young child to take of her new-born baby without having fear of losing job.

On the other hand, it is true that technology is great when it works but a pain when it doesn’t. For example, interrupted internet connection may lead to degrade the quality of work for the people working from home. In addition, they may find it difficult to reach their teammates in case of any issue or emergency occurs.

In conclusion, certainly advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages as it gives them a chance to work more conveniently and flexibly at the same time by saving hours of commutation and letting them to spend more time with loved ones.