Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Many high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent women. Companies should be required to divide a certain percentage of these positions to women.

It is an undeniable fact that in many countries there are more women than men, still, there are few women at the higher managerial positions in companies. Some people opine that certain senior-level positions should be reserved for women. In my opinion, the selection of an employee should be on the criterion of excellence not on gender and there are some sectors where women are not interested to work. This essay explains the reasons behind not supporting this view.

To begin with, reserving jobs for women will not help companies to have a competent workforce and have adverse effects on their productivity. this may discourage women from working hard and enhancing their skills because they will feel secure for their jobs. Additionally, there are some sectors where women are least interested to make their careers such as engineering and Airforce, therefore, allocating an amount of seats may result in some seats vacant or hamper excellent candidates from acquiring these positions.

There may be some other ways to make sure that women also work in companies at higher positions. Most women leave their job because of their family responsibilities or they need to raise their children. Instead of making a reservation for women, companies should make sure work-life balance for women by providing them some time off when their children are young or give them work from home facility. In this way companies need not compromise on excellence or the positions will not be vacant.

In conclusion, making a reservation can cause harm to the companies in terms of excellence, therefore in my opinion hiring candidates for higher positions should not be based on gender and to make sure equality in workplace companies should help better work-life balance for women.