Most people accept that we now live in a globalised world but not everyone agrees that this is beneficial.

To what extent is globalisation a positive or negative development?

It is argued by people that living in a globalized world is both advantageous as well as disadvantageous. Should one accept the fact that globalization is necessary? Or should the detrimental issues be addressed? This essay will elaborate on reasons about why the idea of living in a one world nation has a negative impact.

Firstly, due to free trade concept, corporate giants have taken over the economic markets. these multinational companies have not only shut down many small-scale industries but also local businesses. For instance, before the commencement of globalization, local companies would manufacture and sell the products in their country. such products were vernacular which had traditional essence in them. Since the rise of humongous companies, the products are distributed worldwide; the goods are no more local and vernacular. They are produced at one nation and sold at another. Also, these goods are sold at a cheaper price because of which the smaller companies have now shut down their business due to heavy losses.

Secondly, globalization has given rise to environmental problems such as air, water and sound pollution, therefore causing global warming. For example, industries are polluting the air which is the main reason for depletion of ozone layer. The globe is experiencing drastic climatic changes which is the root cause of natural calamities. Polar ice caps are melting due to which there is rise in sea levels that may cause tsunamis since the world comprises of seventy-five percentage of water body. If this continues, very soon the world will come to an end.

To conclude, even though globalization is beneficial to many, it can hugely impact the world negatively. In my opinion, living in a globalized world can direct to the end of it.