Nowadays, there is a trend in education institutions towards the replacement of entertainment lessons such as football, basketball or tennis by abstract topics such as science or physics. From my point of view, I strongly disagree this opinion and believe that physical education is essential for all students. Physical education can improve the personality and can give good healthy lifestyle to all students.

Firstly, entertainment lessons can absolutely enhance the power of personality. While the academic curriculum provides the younger with useful and valuable information, it will not be enough in the real world which the communication with people need other skills. As this example shows, most of the sports are multiplayer games and need leaders for the groups and good connection between the members on the same team. In addition, pupils will be able to make friends and relationships by doing activities and competitions with each other that they may increase the chances of working together in the future. This illustrates the idea that school is not the only place for studying but also for building the character of the children.

Secondly, physical education is essential for fitness and healthy life for the learner. If we concentrate only on the educational materials, students may sit in the same place for a long time and may become unhappy and disappointed. The youth who play sports is always more active and optimistic than others. For example, the New York Times reported in March 2013 that obesity increased for 60 % of children who do not do outdoor activities. Therefore, we should encourage schools which provide sports facilities and interested in teaching physical education.

To conclude, if other outdoor activities is forbidden in schools, this can affect the personality and the health of children. Thus, they have to play and study both important in their mental and physical development.