World populations tend to move from rural to urban centers. This causes various issues for both rural and urban areas. I think that government should take measures to tackle these problems.

Rapid urbanization poses a big challenge on public resources of the cites. With the increase number of people living in the cities, there is continuous shortage of houses, particularly in the urban center with a high density of population. For example, Hong Kong is one of the most famous metropolises in the world, and the price of the housing is hardly to afford by ordinary dwellers who would have to squeeze themselves in tight spaces lower than average level. Dense populations also put heavy burden on public traffic. It create serious traffic congestion, especially in the rush hour.

On the other hand, urbanization would harm the economy in rural areas dramatically. The decrease of rural population affects local industries, such as agriculture, fisheries and forestry. If the youngsters in these regions are more likely to live in the cities and find jobs there, it would lead to a shortage of workforce, and hinder the development of local economy. For example, in China, there are only old people and children left in some villages of the rural areas.

The government should act to solve these problems. For cities, governments should build sustainable and environment-friendly cities. It means that governments should regulate industries to ensure sustainable way of development, such as waste dispose, clean energy use, low-carbon emission in traffic. In addition, government should improve the infrastructure like healthcare, housing and education. For rural areas, governments should give financial support for younger generations to use their technologies to traditional industries, and it would boost the development of local economy.

In conclusion, urbanization would be a tendency of modern society which would create new problems for both rural and urban areas, and i agree that government should act efficiently to guarantee the healthy development for both areas.